iPhone 8 worth it?

iphone8colors

The iPhone 8 and 8 plus has been out for the better part of a month. It features wireless charging, an upgraded processor, and an improved camera. Are theses new features worth the upgrade from your old phone? If you’r still rocking an iPhone 6 or bellow, I would say it’s worth the upgrade. The iPhone 8’s new A11 chip provides users with one of the fastest phones on the market. It earned itself a single core-score of 4200, and a multi-core score of 9977 on Geekbench. Comparatively the galaxy S8 got a single-core score of 1875 and a multi-core score of 5733. For context; the higher the score, the faster the phone.

Another bit of technology that was introduced to this years Apple lineup, is wireless charging. This feature will allow the user to simply lay the phone onto a wireless charging pad in order to charge it. In my personal experience with wireless charging; I find it to be slow and inconvenient. The only time I leave my phone on a wireless charger, is when I am going to bed. Otherwise I prefer to have my phone plugged in so that I am able to continue using it while it charges.

apple_iphone_2017_20170912_11519

Camera quality on the iPhone 8 plus is, as usual, much improved. Low-light shots are better thanks to the new f 1.8-2.8 dual lenses cameras. Pictures come out cleaner and much less noisy. Being able to record slow-motion in 1080p at 240fps is also a huge bonus. In short, you won’t be disappointed with this years iPhone camera.

Do I think you should drop the phone you have right now, run over to your nearest Apple store, and pick up the latest iPhone? If you have an iPhone 6s or above, I would say that you should hold off until next year at least. If you have the iPhone 6 or bellow I would strongly consider it. At the very least get yourself an iPhone 6s or 7. Apple is currently selling the iPhone 6s starting at 449.99. This is a huge price cut from its original 799 base price. In the end, as long as the phone you have does what you need it to do, all the other features are just perks.

Leave a comment